top of page

First Day of Work Experience

The whole 'Rugby AM Academy' is all about learning new skills, meeting new people and so on but it also includes having the opportunity to do some real experience in the field. Today I went to the Rugby AM office and interviewed both Alex Simmons and Ben Carney (the media officer) and asked them about their experiences, how they got into working within the media and most importantly rugby!

Interviewing is a new skill that I have never had the opportunity to learn or conduct so this was a new experience but also became very real when I then had to speak in front of a camera and interview them both. I felt soooooo uncomfortable and awkward because I have never spoken in front of a camera apart from the odd silly snapchat video!

This was definitely something that I need to improve on but as Alex has many years of experience in speaking in front of people and cameras as he comes from a DJ-ing background orginially and he was giving me tips on how to make an interview flow and lets face it look more professional which is always a bonus. These tips included to relax, make eye contact with the camera, don't think about the next question and many more.

Simmo made me practice again whilst the camera was still rolling and I did improve and so did my confidence but I think in the future I will stick to staying behind the camera instead of my face awkwardly smiling pretending that I know what I'm doing!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page