top of page

Made in Leeds - Lifestyle Awards


Another day of work experience... Today was slightly different to a normal day in the office though. Today I got the opportunity to be a production 'runner' for the Leeds Lifestyle Awards programme which aired live on Made in Leeds TV channel. This awards night was dedicated to the small businesses in Leeds that were to be recognised for their hard work. There was 12 awards that were handed out on the night, some of these awards included Best Leeds Coffee Shop, Best Leeds Hair and Beauty, Best Leeds Bar, Best Leeds Night Club and many more.

My job of being a runner wasn't the most glamourous of jobs as throughout the day it mainly involved getting the production crew drinks so I mastered a making teas and coffee's!

It was later on in the night where my job got abit more interesting. We had a team briefing on what each one of the teams jobs was this included things such as who was operating what camera and it was position, how long each section was going to be and so on. As this was an awards show and usually awards are handed out by celebrities, this was no different at this event.

I got given the job to collect the celebrities from their tables and get them into position at the side of the stage and brief them ready for them to go and present the award. I thoroughly enjoyed the job I was given as I actually played a big part whilst the show was getting aired live on TV because if I didn't go and collect the celebs they wouldn't know when or where they we presenting the award plus I got to meet a few famous faces! Some of these famous faces included Sinitta, Steph Hirst, Cleo Rocos and then some local celebs which included Alex Simmons, Jamie Jones and Tom Zanetti.

As it was live TV there was obviously going to be some hick ups! For example, one of the award winners didn't turn up and then one of the nomination VT's didn't work so this required abit of improvisation from the hosts and the whole production team crossing their fingers that nothing else went wrong!

This opportunity allowed me to work in a real life and live television setting with the ability to network within people in the industry such as the station manager Jonathan Brown and Mark O'Brien the floor manager.

I received a lot of positive feedback from the staff at Made in Leeds so hopefully there might be more opportunities for me to work for Made in Leeds again and even got my name of the credits!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page