top of page

My First Published Article...

If you want to progress and succeed in the Academy gaining a few days of extra work experience is vital. For today's day in the field I was shadowing Jay, who is the media officer at Rugby AM which links to my new chosen art form of blogging/vlogging as part of the Academy.

At first I was given the job of proof reading an article on Kevin Sinfield's new RFL appointment so it could be posted online and was of a professional standard which includes making sure there is no spelling mistakes, the article makes sense, it has a purpose and so on. This was abit boring to be honest as Jay is a professional journalist with a degree so obviously his work was to a high standard and didn't really need checking!

This is when I was then trusted to write an article that had MY NAME written on it - buzzing!!! Rugby AM are always on the ball when it comes to releasing stories regarding new signings at clubs, injury news, latest rumours etc and this was just after Hull FC beat Warrington Wolves at Wembley for the Challenge Cup final and a story about Warrington's injuries hadn't been published yet.

I was then asked to do some research on the injuries that occurred during the game on Saturday. During my research I found that 3 key players in the Warrington outfit got injured, these included Chris Sandow, Ben Westwood and Kurt Gidley. Once the research was completed and I had enough information I began typing away and hoped for the best that it all flowed and was an actual decent read because I had never written anything that was going to be published before! Once completed and proof read by Jay the article was ready to go and was published on the Rugby AM website which was also shared on Facebook and Twitter - my claim to fame!

Embarrassing mum moment was fast approaching though when she read the article and shared it to all her friends on Facebook claiming to be a 'proud mum' *quickly removes tag from the post and deletes my mum off Facebook*

The link to my article is below if anyone fancies having a read:


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page